There won't be new Star Wars games at EA Play Live

There won't be new Star Wars games at EA Play Live

Star Wars joins the list of games that won't be at the showcase.


There won't be new Star Wars games at EA Play Live - image1
(Image credit: EA)

Next ᴡᴇek's EA Pʟᴀʏ Live sʜᴏᴡcᴀse wᴏɴ't feᴀᴛure ᴀɴy ɴᴇᴡ Star Wars ɢᴀᴍᴇs, tʜᴇ publɪsʜᴇr hᴀs cᴏɴfirᴍᴇd, ᴀᴅᴅɪɴg ᴛᴏ a lɪst ᴏꜰ cᴏɴfirᴍᴇd ɴᴏ-sʜᴏᴡs ɪɴcludɪɴg Drᴀɢᴏn Age 4 ᴀɴd tʜᴇ ɴᴇᴡ Mᴀss Effect ɢᴀᴍᴇ. Thᴀᴛ ᴅᴏesn't ᴍᴇᴀɴ EA ᴅᴏesn't ʜᴀᴠᴇ Star Wars ɢᴀᴍᴇs plᴀɴned ᴛʜᴏᴜɢʜ: "ᴀʟʟ ᴏꜰ ᴜs ʟᴏᴏᴋ ꜰᴏʀᴡᴀʀd ᴛᴏ celebrᴀᴛɪɴg wɪᴛh ʏᴏᴜ ɴᴇxᴛ yᴇᴀʀ wʜᴇn ᴡᴇ shᴀʀᴇ ᴏᴜʀ vɪsiᴏɴ ꜰᴏʀ tʜᴇ Galaxy ꜰᴀʀ, ꜰᴀʀ aᴡᴀʏ," tʜᴇ EA Star Wars Twɪᴛter acᴄᴏᴜɴᴛ promɪsed.

EA held the exclusive right to develop Star Wars games until January, when Disney announced the revival of Lucasfilm Games. Shortly after, Ubisoft announced an open-world Star Wars game in development at Massive Entertainment. That won't slow down EA's Star Wars interests though, with the publisher quickly assuring that it'll continue to develop games for the series. 

Nothing is confirmed, but Respawn is currently recruiting for roles on its Star Wars team, pointing to a possible sequel to Jedi Fallen Order. Earlier this year rumors circulated on Reddit that a third instalment in the modern Star Wars Battlefront series is in development at DICE.

At this stage, with some of EA's more exciting forthcoming games ruled out for the showcase, it looks like EA Play Live will be pretty heavily focused on Battlefield 2042, EA Sports titles, and maybe some Apex Legends news. A Dead Space reboot is also heavily rumored. 

EA Play Live takes place on July 22 at 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm BST, or at 3am on July 23 in Australia. 

Author's other posts