World of Warcraft: Burning Crusade Classic launches on June 1

World of Warcraft: Burning Crusade Classic launches on June 1

After it was accidentally leaked earlier this week, Blizzard has confirmed the release date for its next WoW Classic expansion.


World of Warcraft: Burning Crusade Classic launches on June 1 - image2
(Image credit: Blizzard Entertainment)

A ꜰᴇᴡ ᴅᴀʏs ᴀɢᴏ ɪᴛ ʟᴏᴏᴋed ʟɪᴋᴇ Blizzard ᴍɪɢʜᴛ've ʟᴇᴛ sʟɪᴘ tʜᴇ releᴀse dᴀᴛe ꜰᴏʀ Wᴏʀld ᴏꜰ Warcraft: Burnɪɴg Crᴜsade Clᴀssic, ʙᴜᴛ ᴛᴏᴅᴀʏ ɪᴛ ᴏꜰficiᴀʟʟy cᴏɴfirᴍᴇd tʜᴇ expᴀɴsiᴏɴ ɪs launchɪɴg ᴏɴ June 1. Jᴜst ʟɪᴋᴇ wʜᴇn Burnɪɴg Crᴜsade launcʜᴇd ɪɴ 2007, Burnɪɴg Crᴜsade Clᴀssic ᴡɪʟʟ ᴏᴘᴇɴ ᴜᴘ ᴀɴ enᴛɪʀᴇly ɴᴇᴡ ᴄᴏɴᴛɪɴᴇɴᴛ ꜰᴏʀ WoW Clᴀssic pʟᴀʏers ᴛᴏ explᴏʀe ᴀɴd grɪɴd ᴛʜʀᴏᴜɢʜ ᴏɴ tʜᴇir quest ᴛᴏ rᴇᴀᴄʜ tʜᴇ ɴᴇᴡ ʟᴇᴠᴇʟ cap ᴏꜰ 70. Two ɴᴇᴡ ʀᴀᴄᴇs, ʙʟᴏᴏᴅ elves ᴀɴd draenei, ᴀʀᴇ ᴀʟsᴏ joɪɴɪɴg tʜᴇ Hᴏʀde ᴀɴd Alliᴀɴce respectively.

Unlike the first time Burning Crusade launched, however, players will have a lot more time to prepare for their adventures in Outland. In a blog post about the announcement, Blizzard says that the pre-expansion patch will roll out on May 18. Players will then have to choose whether to continue into the Burning Crusade or choose to transfer to new servers that will stay locked in the vanilla Classic era where the level cap remains 60 and no new content will be added. Players will also be able to level new blood elf and draenei characters in preparation for the full launch on June 1.

Blizzard has also helpfully laid out the global release times for Burning Crusade Classic, which are as follows:

Americas: 3pm PDT, June 1 Europe: 11pm CET, June 1 Taiwan: 7am CST, June 2 Korea: 8am KST, June 2 Oceana: 10am AEDT, June 2

If you want more info on Burning Crusade Classic and its features, you can check out our comprehensive overview. And if you're curious about playing but haven't leveled up to 60 in WoW Classic, you'll be able to purchase a one-time level boost closer to launch.

Author's other posts